The white stone city


The region is typified with classical architecture.

Situated in the South of new Zealand between Canterbury and Southland, with the Southern Alps to the West, Otago is a diverse region with almost every activity imaginable. The climate is from sub zero in winter to + 30 c in summer, there are dense forests, vast grasslands and gold mining continues.

The region can be divided into:

  • Dunedin, and the outer suburbs of:
    Port Chalmers, the main regional port where cruise liners frequently call and Mosgiel.
  • North Otago with the towns of:
    Palmerston, Omarama, Oamaru. Alma, Maheno, Kakanui, Herbert (also known as Otepopo), Waianakarua, Hampden, Moeraki, Weston, Ardgowan, Windsor, Five Forks, Peebles, Papakaio, Duntroon, Kurow and Otematata, some of which are in the Waitaki valley.
  • Central Otago and the towns of:
    Queenstown, Wanaka, Albert Town, Alexandra, Arrowtown, Bannockburn, Clyde, Cromwell, Hawea, Millers Flat, Naseby, Oturehua, Ranfurly, Roxburgh, St. Bathans, and Wedderburn.
  • South Otago is roughly the Clutha District with the towns of:
    Balclutha, Brighton and Outram.

For the visitor, there is the choice of adrenalin pumping action, or just first class hospitality or a mix of mild adventure, fine foods and exploration.

If you are in a hurry, you can see some highlights in two to three days, or take a leisurely two - three weeks.

Some scenic highlights are the Albatross colony near Dunedin, the Alps and lakes around Queenstown, the fruit growing areas of Roxborough and Cromwell.

Shoppers are spoiled for choice with a wide range of local crafts and international fashions.


Leave a Reply