Ethics in Yoga

The art and core of being

As with the ten commandments of the Christian bible and the more ancient Egyptian 142 commandments, the social and personal ethics known as Yama and Niyama are the rules which we must abide by for self realisation and for our survival as a society or civilisation. In other words, these constitute a formula for world peace and internal harmony.


Peacefulness (ahimsa) Truthfulness (satya) Honesty (asteya) Continence (Bramacharya) Acceptance (aparigraha)


Purity (saucha) Contentment (santosa) Ardor or Austerity (tapas) Self study(svadhyaya) Dedication to the Lord (isvara pranidhana)

Why Ethics? Thesocial ethics, when practiced, bring about a harmonising of the community. They build trust and friendliness. Personal ethics assist us to see our true colours,

Continue reading Ethics in Yoga

Eight Limbs of Yoga

Actions by which success is assured

Yoga is not just about exercises and is not just about meditation, there are eight traditionally defined elements:

1: Niyama which translates as following the rules of right personal conduct including diet and lifestyle.

2: Yama which translates as observing correctness should behaviour.

3: Asana comprises all the physical exercises of yoga that keep us physically healthy and help to prepare the body and mind for pranayama and meditation.

4: Pranayama or breathing exercises. At a basic level is about controlling the breath and increasing self-awareness. But on a deep physical level when done well, pranayama heals and strengthens the central nervous

Continue reading Eight Limbs of Yoga