Home - History - Beliefs - Dharma
Hinduism - Buddhism - Spirituality
Body and Self - Downloads

search engine by freefind
Home > Body and Self > The Seven Chakras  

The technology of being human

The seven chakras make up the core of our energy or spiritual body. These points are located along the kundalini, a dual energy stream flowing from the centre of our earth to the furtherest space and back down to earth centre.

The kundalini can be likened to an 11,000 volt power line along which are transformers or chakras which break the current down in to 240 volts for consumption.

In yoga class I have talked about the dual nature of the kundalini in comparison with the alternating current of the city electrical grid and its important in meditation and asana practise to remember these facts as this is an area of our being where we are also looking to extend our conscious perception and gain management privileges.

The Chakras:
From a children's story, but it is a nice description and easy to understand.

  1. Sahasrara - सहस्रार - The Crown Chakra
    • Located about two inches above the head is our connection to the divine spiritual
    • Primarily masculine, his chakra deals with pure cosmic energy and is seen as our connection to God
    • It is blocked by earthly attachments.
  2. Ajna - आज - The 3rd Eye Chakra
    • Located in the centre of the head in or near the pineal gland
    • This chakra deals with insight
    • It is is blocked by illusions.
  3. Vishuddha - विशुद - The Throat Chakra
    • Located in the throat
    • Governs sound and speech
    • It deals with truth
    • It is blocked by the lies we tell our selves.
  4. Anahata - अनाहत - The Heart Chakra
    • Located beside our physical heart
    • This middle chakra is the parent over all our chakras deals with love, balance and harmony.
    • It deals with love and has a role to balance or moderate the other 6
    • It is blocked by grief.
  5. Manipura - मणिपूर - Fire Chakra
    • located in the solar plexus.
    • This is the centre of will
    • It is blocked by shame.
  6. Swadhisthana - स्वाधिष्ठान - Water chakra
    • This chakra deals with reproduction and pleasure.
    • It is blocked by guilt
  7. Muladhara - मूलाधार - Base, Earth or Root Chakra.
    • Located about 2 inches below the centre of the perineum.
    • This chakra deals with our connection to t he divine feminine
    • It is blocked by by fear.
Further reading
Supplemental video page
The seven chakras and their significance

Body & Self
Consciousness and DNA
Three Bodies
Five Kosha's
The Seven Chakras
Chakras Explained
Karma Explained
Karma as Destiny
Karma and Consequences
Karma Yoga
Vanity - Understanding and Knowledge

Diet and Nutrition
A Rough Guide to Healing Systems
The Breast Book
Human Sexuality

The Amazing
History of India

Amazing India




Unless specified, all content is as per the Creative Commons Share and Share Alike without any warranty or guarantee.
All Rights Reserved